Event

Webinar: Patent IP strategy and protecting cash flow during COVID-19

Details


Thursday, 4 June 2020


1:00pm AEST: Brisbane, Melbourne, Sydney & Hobart
12:30pm ACST: Darwin & Adelaide
11:00am AWST: Perth
3:00pm NZST: New Zealand

Event Summary


Amidst the COVID-19 crisis, companies and entrepreneurs have been faced with difficult decisions affecting their business strategies. Aimed to help free up capital and ensure the longevity of your Intellectual Property portfolio, Griffith Hack presents, ‘Patent IP strategy and protecting cash flow during COVID-19’.

Patent Attorneys Malcolm Lyons and Sarah Cox will provide practical tips on reducing patent portfolio expenses without compromising IP protection during (and post) COVID-19.

Building on the content from Part 1 and Part 2 of our thought leadership series, Malcolm and Sarah will discuss the various filing tactics and strategies available when applying for patent protection and share tips on making commercially-focused patent portfolio decisions.

This session will include an interactive Q&A component.

About the speakers

Malcolm Lyons
Malcolm trained in chemistry and biochemistry, and now specialises in biotechnology. He has post-doctoral and industry experience in medical research into various aspects of human health and disease during which he was awarded a number of prestigious fellowships and published his research regularly. As an Australian and New Zealand patent attorney, Malcolm has worked closely with universities, teaching hospitals, research institutes, start-up companies and large corporations, both local and international, and is a trusted advisor to his clients providing practical, strategic advice. He has particular expertise in patent term extensions for pharmaceutical patents, and discretionary extensions of time.

Sarah Cox
Sarah is qualified in biomedical science, and with a Master’s degree in Intellectual Property Law, her professional experience includes working with an Australian biotechnology company specifically in genotyping, cloning and sequencing DNA and PCR and hybridisation techniques. Sarah was also part of the microbiology team with a global pharmaceutical company involved with the QC testing of raw materials and finished products, pyrogen testing of sterile products and validation of new products and methods.
Sarah’s patent drafting and prosecution expertise relates to molecular biology and genetics, immunology, biochemistry, pharmacology, treatment methods, medical devices and pharmaceutical and food formulations. Sarah is valued by clients for her ability to communicate complex matters in ordinary language.

 

If you would like to attend this webinar please fill out the form below and a member of our team will be in contact via email closer to the date of the webinar. 

 

Register for event